Being nagged by MDs and Big Pharma

by

My internist’s office callls me every 3 months to come in for a “check-up”.My usual approach was to see my internist only when I feel ill or have a concern about my well being.
I saw a well known cardiologist in CA . No internvention was recommended by him for my AFib. He just added to continue taking Eliquis which I had filled in CA. I now get calls from the CA Pharmacy to renew my medication. Which I paid a copayment of $473 I’ve gotten these same calls from my Queens pharmacy. I sometimes do not necessarily comply with continuing with a medication. I got a rating of poor compliance about taking my medication as prescribed. I’m a bad resistant patient. I worry about the drugs being prescribed.
For years I have been taking leverlevothyroxine for an underactive thyroid. I’ve been travel a lot lately and have not taken it for a while. So my most recent visit for a “check-up” had me without this medicine. “Did I need it?” So Dr. G prescribed .25 MCG. Clearly equivocating. Come in again after taking this small does to be retested. I ran out of this small dose and called Dr. G’s office, What should I do now? Keep taking it and come in for another appointment. This was all conveyed to me via an office worker. Did not speak with the doctor directly.
So clearly Dr. G. does not like me as a patient, I’m non compliant. I don’t necessarily do what I’m told.
A disclaimer; I do not neglect my health. I take several nutrients. When I gave a list of these to my internist G.Gilbert Welch’s book “Overdiagnosed” Dr G. seemed not at all interested. Doctors and pharmacies go fishing for patients (and revenue).
It’s time to resist and go along with your intuition. And get your self educated about what you need to stay healthy.

I got a call from NYU Langone complaining that I had not paid my recent bill, $42.00. I had just sent it in via USPS.  This is the first time I was dunned to pay a copay.  Another nag!

Leave a Reply

