Low-Carb Diet Healthy, Duh!

by

This is no longer news but that the NYT reported on a significant study of the health benefits of a low-carb diet is news. The Science Section of the Times has been equivocating throughout this controversy. But I hope they will not continue to do so. Low-Carb, high fat, high protein diets are heart protective. But now with this definitive study many health professionals and government agencies have to fully accept the research and prescribe accordingly.

I have my own personal experience with this concept. I had read John Yudkin’s book, Pure White and Deadly, published in 1972 many years ago,  and have known that sugar was deadly. In 1994 I embarked on an experiment on myself. I had been listening to Robert Atkins, and , l just got my numbers back from lipid testing and decided to go totally no carb. My total cholesterol was 426, ldl was 314 and glucose 125. My then doctor went bonkers. I then decided to cut out carbs. I refused statin drugs.
Three weeks later I was again tested and found a drop in total cholesterol of 125 points to 301, ldl dropped 110 pts to 204 and glucose to 108. I told this to my friends and their comment was so what happened to your weight from eating so much fat? I lost 8 pounds. It really worked. 

Since then many journalists and researchers have said the same thing. Carbs, especially sugars are bad for you. These writers and researchers starting with Carlton Fredricks and include Gary Taubes, David Perlemutter, Robert Lustig, Weston Price Foundation, Joe Mercola and most recently Nina Teicholz who recently wrote “A Big Fat Lie”.

 

One Response to “Low-Carb Diet Healthy, Duh!”

  1. Modesto Says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be actually something that
    I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.

    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to
    get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

