Coming to Grips with Aging

by

If my mind tends to deny my years, my body has started to talk to me about this. In particular my right knee, reminding me that I’m not who I used to be. Does this mean I need major medical intervention? Will it help? How long is the recovery? etc.
I also have evidence that my state of mind strongly influences my pain. When I am happy the pain is not there. I’ve had it completely subside when I made a decision that was made on my behalf, not on someone else’s needs. And it got worse when I disregarded my issues or when I worried about having to contemplate curtailing activities that I look forward to.
This realization came to me during this morning’s "Morning Edition" where Jerome Groopman reported on how he conquered his back pain.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2014/01/13/255457090/pain-in-the-back-exercise-may-help-you-learn-not-to-feel-it

Leave a Reply

