Rethinking Dying

by

I have always felt that I wanted to die quickly to avoid a protracted illness, a long time discomfort and to be less of a burden to my loved ones. Now after the sudden death of my friend Bob Kivelson I am considering different scenario.  My first reaction to Bob’s death was that I was unable to say goodbye to him.

In some ways I have had both experiences.  My husband, Leon was ill for a long time.  I don’t remember this process being a burden, just sad.  Both of us knowing his time was limited.

Perhaps it is better for us to know we are dying and prepare ourselves and others for the inevitable over time.  And in the end that is what we should be doing all the times since we really do not know what will happen, except that we will die.

2 Responses to “Rethinking Dying”

  1. Dave Winer Says:

    I’m sure the sudden experience was Ken’s death.

    I had the same experience you’re having. That’s why I spent four months in St Augustine a couple of years after his death. It was the only way for me to touch what was left of him, the part that I had experienced the most.

    However, it was no substitute at all for the real Uncle Va Va.

  2. Edie Kaplan Says:

    THANKS FOR SHARING WITH ME. LOVE,

    EDIE

Leave a Reply

