Swindles and Spams

by

The NYT had an article about computer spamming today.
I got a phone call yesterday from Danny at Windows Care Service Center. Or so he said. He wanted my password(s), my computer was full of dangerous viruses and he urgently needed me to cooperate with him to fix my machine.

So I told him I don’t respond to these requests but if he gave me his phone number I’d pass it on to my tech friend. His number was 347 332 1135. He said he wanted to hear from me (us) very soon because this was urgent.
So I went on the internet and searched Windows Care Service Centers and there were many references to spamming. The recommendation was to call the FBI. So I did (212 384 1000).There I spoke with a real person who asked that I report this to IC3.Gov. I went to the site but found that they asked for so much personal information that I did not make the complaint. I wonder if I was wrong.

Leave a Reply

