Glad To Be Among Good People

by

I tend to be pessimistic about the ways of the world, always expecting the worst. Well the last day or so restored my faith in mankind or at least in my friends at PEIR.
I have been busily preparing an ambitious presentation for PEIR at Hofstra. I had signed up to give this talk on October 22nd and just to confirm the date I contacted the curriculum committee and was informed that I was not on the schedule. I was offered times in Late November and mid December. This was a great disappointment to me. I was very close to being ready. What could have happened? The committee member asked me if I had not received a tentative schedule in the late Spring. I had not. He checked and I was not on the list to receive notification. He rectified this after the fact..
I asked where was the original schedule which I had signed up on. Did someone remove my name wanting the slot for him/herself and finally, who actually will be presenting in the 10/22 slot?
This all seemed quite hopeless and distressing and I lost sleep over it. Not worth it. I was just very disappointed, again not worth it. Anyway someone on the committee seemed to have understood and in the end the date was restored to me.
Viva PEIR and Diego Rivera

One Response to “Glad To Be Among Good People”

  1. Edie Kaplan Says:

    GLAD THAT YOU GOT BACK YOUR SLOT. I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT YOU DIDN’T WANT THIS TO BE DELAYED, ESPECIALLY SINCE YOU’VE PREPARED FOR THE OCT 22ND DATE. GOOD LUCK WITH THE VISIT TO CALIFORNIA. I KNOW YOU’RE THERE ALREADY.

    I’M SITTING AT THE POOL AT THE MOTEL AND TYPING THIS AND MY SISTER IS PLAYING TENNIS SOMEWHERE AND WILL BE BACK LATER. THE POOL AND SURROUNDINGS ARE EMPY AND I FEEL AS IF I AM SITTING ON MY PRIVATE ESTATE. THE WEATHER IS LOVELY AND WE HAVE SOME INTERESTING EVENTS PLANNED, PARTLY CULTURALLY AND PARTLY ENERGETIC.

    BE WELL

Leave a Reply

