The Most Valuable Card in My Wallet

by

My library will not let you take out a book without showing your library card.   The staff all know me but that is the rule. So I’d better be sure I have it or go home and find it in some pocket where I must have left it the last time I was in the building. I learned that the hard way.  No card, no books.

This would be devastating to me. As is the thought of reduced service or no service from the libraries as suggested by Anthony Doerr in today’s Times.

It is a beautiful service.  One can order any book on line without leaving home.  And be notified when it arrives at you local branch. They also notify you when the books you have are about to come due to help you avoid a fine.

The libraries need to remain open and fully serviced to have an educated citizenry and children. Please!

Leave a Reply

