We’re Destroying the Planet

by

I went out with a close friend yesterday. We had some time during intermission of Pilobolus to talk. She tells me about the grand house her nephew is buying. Five bedrooms for himself, baby and wife.  Lots of land and luxury. After all he is a doctor.  My friend also tells me of an in law who has a large house in the northern suburbs of NY and has purchased a great beach house at the shore. They are rich and why not spend the money and enjoy life.

After a while my friend notes my discomfort especially when I ask “Why”? My friend does not understand.  “Why not?” she asks.

That’s when it dawned on me that she does not have a clue.  I say  “We are consuming too much.” “We are destroying the planet!”

The houselights dim and we resume watching the show.

Leave a Reply

